Post Season Awards Rolling In for Area Teams

The fall sports season wrapped up Thanksgiving weekend and post season awards are being handed out for various sports.

Area girls’ golf teams earned several awards.

The Chelsea girl’s golf team earned D3 Academic All State Team Honors with an amazing team GPA of 3.918.

Members of the team were Katelyn McKinley, Sam Pagliarini, Emily Savory, Julia VanReesema, and Maddie Vasquez.

McKinley was named to the D3 Individual Academic All State squad.

Dexter’ Courtney Palkowski was a D2 Individual Academic All State Honorable Mention for the Dreadnaughts.

The Saline girls team earned several post season Awards.

The Hornets earned D1 Academic All State Honors with a team GPA of 3.728.

Members of the team were Catherine Loftus, Emily Woodman, Molly Pribble, Sydney Page, and Stephanie Schick. Pribble earned D1 Individual Academic All State Honors.

Loftus was named to the MIGCA Super Team, while Page and Pribble were Honorable Mention All State.

Saline coach Debbie Williams-Hoak was named the MIGCA Coach of the Year for 2017.

In soccer, Anthony Sweier earned First Team D1 honors for Saline, while Zeke Gray and Ryan Nichols were Honorable Mention.

Dexter’s Daniel Higgins earned First Team D2 honors. Cole Harreld earned second team honors, while Max Harreld and Ryan Sanders were Honorable Mention.

Manchester saw Lenin Fierro earn Third Team D4 honors.

The area dominated the field hockey All State Teams.

Earning First Team honors for Dexter were Maggie Jones, Kylee Niswonger, and Abigail Tamer.

Second Team honors went to Claire Vaughn and Marin Waddington, while Maeve Donevan was Honorable Mention.

Saline had Erin Reilly earn First Team honors, while Hannah Jarvie was Second Team, and Kari Szaley Honorable Mention.

Payton Doan earned First Team honors for Chelsea, while Jordan Holton was Honorable Mention.

In Division 2 Pinckney had Morgan Kramer earn second team honors, while Jenny Booth was Honorable Mention.

Area Football team earned several post season awards.

Saline’s Dimitri Douglas was named an AP Division 1-2 All State Offensive Lineman. CJ Gildersleeve was an Honorable Mention Linebacker and MJ Griffin Honorable Mention D-Back.

Chelsea’s Ronnie Buford was a first Team Division 3-4 All State defensive lineman.

Pinckney earned several post season awards.

Nick Cain was named AP Divison 1-2 All State Wide Receiver. Alex Wasyl was second team defensive back. Cauy Hendee Honorable Mention Linebacker and coach Rod Beaton Second Team Coach of Year.

Water polo saw Dexter’s Drew Golin and Stephen Sterlitz earn Honorable Mention all state.

Seth Kinker

Reporter/Digital Media for The Sun Times News

Leave a Reply