Saline Boys Track Wins Sixth Straight Regional, Girls Third

The Saline boys’ track team made it six straight regional titles last week, clipping Ann Arbor Pioneer for the top spot by just one point.

The Hornets finished with 116 points, one point better than Pioneer’s 115.

The meet came down to the last event, the 4×400 relay and the Hornets came from behind on the final lap as anchorman Christopher Chuparkoff overcome Pioneer to win the race the regional crown for the Hornets. He teamed with Jack Fenelon, Winford Walker, and Jacob Stuck to win the race.

Eric Harris won three regional titles for the Hornets. He won the pole vault, the long jump, and was part of the winning 4×100 relay team along with Jamari Harris-Pryce, Nicholas Patteri, and Winford Walker.

Anthony DeKraker qualified in four events. He qualified in the 800, 1600, 3200 and was part of the 4×8000 relay team that finished second along with Cam Bacarella, Joshua Cook, and William Downey.

Max Schneider also qualified in the pole vault for the Hornets.

Lauryn Hunt won to Regional titles to lead the girls to their third-place finish.

Hunt won the 400 and was part of the winning 4×200 along with Emily Cook, Amera Boyd, and Suzanne Chuparkoff. She also qualified in the 200 with a second-place finish.

Also qualifying for the Hornets was the 4×800 relay team of Emma Cummings, Kayla Fortino, Rebecca Cantrell and Ella Woehlke.


Seth Kinker

Reporter/Digital Media for The Sun Times News

Leave a Reply