Saline Cross Country Teams Place Well at Jackson (With Pictures)

By Mike Williamson –

The Saline boys’ and girls’ cross country teams had strong showings against some of the top teams of the state at the Jackson Invitational Saturday.

The races featured several of the top-ranked teams in Division 1 and the boys came home with a third-place finish and the girls fourth.

The boys’ race featured six of the top 15 teams in the state and was won by 12th ranked Clarkston with 74 points. Fourth-Ranked AA Pioneer was second and fifth-ranked Hornets third with 134 points.

Simon Pfeiffer led Saline with a 10th place finish in 15:59.

Also medaling for Saline were William Minnette was 17th in 16:10 and Jevin Nishioka 26th in 16:23.

Emmett Berryhill was 36th in 16:43, Christopher Van Dyke 45th in 16:48, Christofer Clisham Jr 47th in 16:49, and Cole Trese 52nd in 16:51.

Running for the Saline B team were Brock Boze in 16:46, Jacob Brunty in 17:04, Johnathan Speers, 17:05, Noah Pelletier in 17:11, Nathan Irgang in 17:16,             Matthew Thibeault in 17:37.4, and Kyle Lentine in 17:38.5.

The girls finished fourth in a race that featured five of the top six teams in the state rankings and only 16 points separated the top five teams in a very exciting race.

Fourth-ranked Plymouth Salem won the race with 110 points, followed by fifth ranked Clarkston with 112. Top-ranked Northville finished third with 115, with the sixth-ranked Hornets finishing fourth with 121, 13th ranked Traverse City West finished fifth with 126, and second-ranked Ann Arbor Pioneer was sixth with 136.

The Hornets had four runners medal with top 30 finishes, led by Kayla Fortino in 16th with a time of 19:05.

Nicole Dillmann was 23rd in 19:17, Madison Stern 26th in 19:20, and Madi Wood 29th in 19:24 to earn medals for Saline.

Emma Cummings finished 36th in 19:32, Taylor Yaklich in 41st in 19:37, and Jenna Allman 56th in 20:15.

Running for the Saline B team were Maddie Stewart in 19:39.1, Ella Woehlke in 19:50.7, Claire Endres in 20:03.2, Katelyn Szafranski in 20:13.1, Maekayla Rice in 21:17.7, and Makenna Lupi in 22:08.3.

Pictures by Mike Williamson

Leave a Reply