Community News

Dexter High School Varsity, Concert and Symphonic bands took their talents on stage at the Dexter High School Center for Performing Arts for the annual spring concert. In addition to honoring 28 Dexter High School class of 2024 seniors at their final high school band concert, the following seniors were honored with awards.

photographic portrait of young man outdoors

William Kletzka. Courtesy of Dexter Band Boosters

Will Kletzka was honored with the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award, named in honor of Jazz Legend Louis Armstrong. Armstrong was both an accomplished jazz singer and trumpeter.  The award is presented to the student who exhibits outstanding achievement in the field of jazz as demonstrated through superior musicianship, character and individual creativity.

Calvin Ophoff. Courtesy of Dexter Band Booster.


Andrew Gafford, Sammy Koch and Calvin Ophoff received the Patrick S. Gilmore Band Award. This award was introduced in 1994 in honor of the legendary bandmaster and composer. This beautiful award honors outstanding high school band students and their achievements, commitment, and service to the band.

photographic portrait of a teen

Sam Koch. Courtesy of Dexter Band Boosters

Elise Schenk was the winner of the MSBOA Scholar Instrumentalist Award. This award is given to outstanding musicians who excel both musically and academically. The award is given to a student who has a history of participation and excellence in MSBOA events.

Andrew Gafford. Courtesy of Dexter Band Boosters.

Will Kletzka was awarded the John Philip Sousa Band Award.

Introduced in 1955 to honor the top student in the high school band, the John Philip Sousa Band Award recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication. The Sousa Award is the pinnacle of achievement in a high school band.

Elise Schenk. Courtesy of Dexter Band Boosters.

The Dexter High School band program is under the direction of Ms. Grace Wolfe, director and Mr. Andrew Damman, assistant director.

The Mill Creek Middle School 7th and 8th grade bands dazzled their audience with a recent spring concert, also at the DHS CPA. Seven students received honors at the conclusion of the concert. Curt Thomas and Echo Kiel earned the Bravo Award, Felix Topp and Wade Holleman earned the Progress Award, Leo McCleskey and Kenny Redman earned the Outstanding Award. The MSBOA Instrumental Award was presented to Holly Myers.

Mr. Andrew Damman is the director of the Mill Creek Band program and Mrs. Rachel Wilson is the assistant director.

Stay on top of local news by subscribing to our daily newsletter


About Us

The Sun Times News black logo
Illustration of a low angle view of the sunset through reeds.

The Sun Times News connects you to the heart of Chelsea, Dexter, Saline, and Milan with in-depth local news. From community events and sports highlights to vital civic updates and local business stories, we are your trusted guide, enriching your daily life with news that truly resonates with your local experience.

Top Posts


Stay on top of local news by subscribing to our daily newsletter

The Sun Times News Logo (White)
©2024 The Sun Times News. All Rights Reserved. Website Design by Ebony Iris Media

Cookie Disclaimer: “We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalized ads or content, and analyze our traffic. By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies.” Accept

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.